0 Menu

Vatican Shadow ‎| Death Is Unity With God (2LP) [LOVE100]

25.00 / Sold Out

Vatican Shadow ‎| Death Is Unity With God
Label: Modern Love ‎– LOVE100
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition
Released| 03 Mar 2015

“Death is Unity With God” finds Dominick Fernow returning to the kind of feral, burned-out productions which for our money find Fernow at his very best and which dominated “Ornamented Walls” released on Modern Love back in 2012. Nodding to classic Muslimgauze but inspired by the parallels between religious fundamentalism at home in the USA and abroad, the oppressive atmospheres and destroyed rhythms isolate the gutted toil and drone in ‘It’s To Come’, while ‘F.B.I. God’ reduces the drums to scorched blasts against some harrowing, darkside chords. The quasi-speed torment of ‘Manufactured Silencers Under Direct Orders’ flows into the haunting chorales and chiming percussions of ‘Living on and off at the Shadows Motel’ and the scything techno roil of ‘Small Explosives and Blasting Caps Inside the Pages of a Phonebook’, before a particularly affective chamber-like meditation, ‘McVeigh Figure’ draws aesthetic lines between ambient black metal, Coil and early Autechre. ‘Waco (Postmortem)’ ends the set operating nearly out of earshot with those incredible, sashaying synth motifs persisting with its struggle against the patina of hiss and exasperated rhythms blurred around the edges.

A1 Fort Hood Again
A2 Living On And Off At The Shadows Motel
A3 Koresh Lamb
A4 Manufactured Silencers Under Direct Orders
B1 McVeigh Figure
B2 Small Explosives And Blasting Caps Inside The Pages Of A Phonebook
C1 FBI God
C2 It's To Come
D1 Machine-Gunning Of The Davidians
D2 Descend On Guayanilla (CNN)
D3 Texarkana Resistance
D4 Waco Postmortem (Murrah)

# Techno # Industrial # Experimental # Ambient # Power Electronics