0 Menu

Ø ‎| Oleva (2LP) [Sähkö-023]

25.00 / Coming Soon

Ø ‎| Oleva
Label: Sähkö Recordings ‎– Sähkö-023LP
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Reissue
Released| 31 Aug 2017

Finally available again, Mika Vainio's Oleva was released in 2008 and ranks among his most contemplative and best work. It alternates between shades of the original Pan Sonic sound and the more delicate tones of explorative ambience as heard on the fabulous 'Kantamoinen'. It also includes a rare Vainio cover version; a unique interpretation of Roger Waters’ 'Set the controls for the heart of the sun’

Under the Ø moniker Vainio proffered some of the most singular and interesting electronic music of the last three decades, starting in 1993 with a template-setting series of 12"s for his native Sahko imprint, and ending with 2013’s Konstellaatio.

Since his untimely passing earlier this year, Vainio's extensive catalogue has been weighing heavily on the minds of an electronic music community that was in one way or another completely indebted to his singular sound.

Re-evaluating Oleva with that in mind imbues it with a kind of poignancy that’s hard to describe - this is, after all, minimal music. And yet, it feels deeply moving. Somewhere behind the isolated vista on the cover was a man of few words who quietly set about imposing his own precise aesthetic onto the world. In his own time. Without compromise.

A1 Unien Holvit
A2 S-Bahn
A3 Set The Controls To The Heart Of The Sun
B1 Loihdittu
B2 Vastus
B3 U-Bahn
C1 Frekvenssi
C2 Koituva
C3 Mojave
D1 Tasanko
D2 Kausaaliton
D3 Muistetun Palaava Taajuus

# Experimental # Ambient # Techno