0 Menu

In Aeternam Vale | Pink Flamingos (3LP) [DM3D013]


In Aeternam Vale | Pink Flamingos
Label: Dement3d Records ‎– DM3D013
Format: 3 × Vinyl, 12", EP
Released| 06 Jun 2016

2016 marks a seminal year for DEMENT3D as the Parisian based label spreads its wings, expanding both its family of artists and its sonic boundaries. Following the excellent collaborative EP from label boss Francois X and Antigone in February, comes a 16-track album from the Lyon-based "electronics maniac and pioneer", Laurent Prot (In Æternam Vale).

Pink Flamingos is a timely reminder of the raw, wonderfully complex productions of the French maestro – from his project's conception in the late 1980s, all the way up to his wilder experimentation in more recent years. Made in 1988, the opening track "Clobenzorex" is one of the many extended and unedited proto-techno jams on the album. The track cements the claims by the likes of James Ruskin, Silent Servant and Regis, that his influence on the current electronic music landscape should be seen in the same light as those heralded in Detroit. Without indication, the thirteen minutes are driven by a complex layering of synths, tinged with soft cymbals and a considerable kick. "Clobenzorex" could easily be identified as one of the 'brand new futuristic experiments' fit for a truly modern dancefloor.

Pink Flamingos, the album takes in music Prot has made over the past 30 years, with cuts dating back to 1986 while others are as fresh as 2015. DEMENT3D explain they wanted to focus specifically on the experimental and drone pieces of In Aeternam Vale’s unreleased material. The label describe the music as “unedited techno jams” and “uncut and extended versions of ambient drone pieces – some lasting over 20 minutes.” Pink Flamingos provides In Aeternam Vale with his first album proper since Nostalgie De La Boue’s 2012 release of Masse Critique in addition to Contort’s cassette release of a live set Prot played at Berlin Atonal in 2014.

A1 Clobenzorex (1988)
A2 Soundscape 5 (2013)
A3 Feed Me (2013)
B1 B (2014)
B2 Alone (2014)
B3 Soundscape 2 (2013)
C1 181 (1989)
C2 Congestion Cosh (1995 )
D1 Soundscape 1 (2013)
D2 Hole (1996)
E1 Autour Du Signal (2013)
E2 176 (1989)
F1 Soundscape 4 (2013)
F2 Drones (2015)
F3 Soundscape 3 (2013)
F4 La Pluie (1986)

# Techno # Experimental # Ambient